Editing Your Work

This post is a little out of context because, I said I would post on how to write, and this is certainly part of that, but it is one of the final steps. I would prefer to go in order, but this is the stage I’m on with Paranormal Project and it has been on my mind a lot. Also, this should give people a pretty good idea that I actually know what I’m talking about.

So, you’ve finished your manuscript, your story is complete, what do you do next? It’s time to publish, right? Wrong. You need to edit your work. Make sure that this is the story that you are trying to tell. I made this mistake with Diary of Jane. You need to go through your work and make a 2nd, and a 3rd draft. Sometimes more. Why? Because you miss shit. You type it wrong. Sometimes you start going with one idea and then change your mind and go with another and forget to fix it. Don’t be discouraged, it happens to everyone on almost everything that they write. This is especially true if your story is long and takes a long time to write, or a very short time to write. This step is very important and is the most annoying part of writing. Why? Because now you need to be anal with your work. you need to chop it up, extend it and rewrite it. Only then will you have the story that you want to tell.

Okay. You have just finished your fifth draft. You’re done, right? You’re ready to get this baby published, right? Wrong again. Now that your done self-editing, you need someone to edit your work for you. Why? Because no matter what, you are the author of your work. Your mind will see things that a reader will not see, and same goes for what the reader will see. No matter how good you are or how big your name is, you will NOT be able to catch everything. I know, I have tried. I know what you’re thinking after reading that last sentence. “Isn’t this guy contradicting himself? I mean, he says you need an editor, but then he just said he tried to edit his own work?” This is true, because as some of you may already know, finding a good editor isn’t a simple Google click away. It can be, but you better have money flowing out of your asshole if that is the route you take. I found that the average editor runs anywhere from $3000-$8000 for a novel the size of Whispers In The Night. That is a 70,000 word novel, most are bigger than that.

So, if you’re like me, you don’t have a spare $8000 lying around that you can spend on an editor for a book that may never make any of that back. Now, if you decide to self-publish(more on this at a later time), there are some packages that include editors and it won’t run you that much, but it still isn’t affordable. So now I have given you 2 possible options. Here is the 3rd. Find someone who will willingly edit your book. This is a common suggestion by many authors, and it is also something that I recommend. Let’s dig into this a little more, shall we? A lot of authors and a lot of writers say, find someone who is unbiased to edit your work. I’m gunna horseshit on this one. Now, I know sometimes you get lucky and find someone who will work out, but most times, you won’t. Why? Because honestly, they don’t give a shit. You and your work DON’T mean anything to this person, so why would they finish it if there is little or no gain in it for them? With Diary of Jane, I went through 23 editors and another 4 with Whispers In The Night.  Making a total of 27 different editors. So here is what I suggest and what I did. Ask someone who you believe can do it, who is biased towards you. This could be a close friend, your mom, your dad, a close co-worker, your boyfriend or your girlfriend. Why? Because they DO give a shit about you and your work! They want you to succeed, they want you to make your dream a reality. And they will do their very best on their part. Will it be perfect? No, probably not. But it’s a lot better than what you had before they did it. I admit I was uneasy about doing this, but since doing this, my books have never been praised or loved more.

As always, if you’d like to leave a comment or have any questions for me, please feel free to do so below.

 

Leave a Reply

