Where To Start

So you have an idea in your head, or if you’re anything like me, you literally have thousands. So what do you do with them? Really there is no right or wrong answer to this question, it’s whatever works best for you. I have a book I call my ledger, to be accurate, it’s about 4 books, and I would write this idea in my ledger. And when it’s time to write I choose and idea from this ledger, sometimes I combine a few of them. I will spend anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks coming up with this Core idea because it is this idea that drives the entire story. Even if the story ends in a completely different place from where it started, it is the core idea that brings it there. I used this method for both the Diary Of Jane and Whispers In The Night.

However, there are also sub-core ideas. And I used this while writing, The Paranormal Project. This is a story where there is a main and driving idea, but also a secondary one that separate from the main one. I think it is very important that all of your sub-Core ideas branch off your main Core idea, or else it can become very confusing. I think it really depends on the kind of story that you’re trying to tell on whether or not you even need a sub-Core mixed in there at all.

Have any questions? Comments? Or any person remarks as well as areas you’d like to see me cover at all. Then let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

